Eagles win cross country dual

RAPID CITY, S.D. – Both Chadron State College cross country teams were victorious Friday morning during a dual with South Dakota School of Mines in Rapid City.

Led by senior Ashley Riesen of Chadron, the CSC women swept the first six places while scoring the minimum 15 points. South Dakota Mines had 45 points.

The Chadron State men took five of the first six places, They were paced by redshirt Dylan Stansbury of Crawford and won by an 18 to 41 margin.

CSC coach Ryan Baily said the Eagles competed well and appear to be much improved from a year ago, when they revived their cross country program following a 27-year hiatus.
"We got off to a good start," Baily said. "We'll keep working and try to get better with every meet."

Riesen's winning time over the 5 kilometer (3.1 miles) course was 19 minutes and20 seconds. She was followed by junior Jayme Nunes of Alliance in 19:40 and sophomore Rebecca Volf of Wood River in 19:49.

Another CSC sophomore, Sara Townsend of Douglas, Wyo., was fourth, followed by freshmen Nicky Applegarth of Chadron and Callie Johnson of Casper, Wyo.

Maggie Vinton was the first Mines runner to finish while placing seventh.

In the men's race, Michael Krsnak set the pace while running unattached. He completed the 8 kilometers (5 miles) in 27:02. A native of Rapid City, Krsnak was the Summit League cross country champion last fall when he was a senior at South Dakota State.

Stansbury finished the course in 28:11, four seconds ahead of teammate Evans Koech, a sophomore from Kenya.

The Hardrockers' Justin Slattery was third in 28:16, followed by CSC freshman Josf Gertner of Fort Morgan, Colo., in 28:28. Another of the Eagles' freshmen, Robert Ricks of Douglas, Wyo., was fifth in 28:49, followed by CSC sophomore Simon Gudeta of Ethiopia in 28:55.

The Eagles will host their meet on Saturday, Sept. 14 starting at 9 a.m. It will be followed by Chadron High School's invitational meet.

Women's results:
Team scores: 1, Chadron State, 15 points, 2, South Dakota Mines, 45.
Individual results: 1, Ashley Riesen, CSC, 19:20; 2, Jayme Nunes, CSC, 19:40; 3, Rebecca Volf, CSC, 19:49; 4, Sara Townsend, CSC, 20:14; 5, Nicky Applegarth, CSC, 20:31; 6, Callie Johnson, CSC, 20:50; 7, Maggie Vinton, SDM, 21:14; 8, Emily Stickney, SDM, 21:30; 9, Brittanee Wood, SDM, 22:06; 10, Sharla Maginnis, SDM, 22:15; 11, Therese Frels, SDM, 22:21; 12, Elizabeth Rice, unattached, 22:25; 13, Shanae LaCroix, SDM, 22:58; 14, Karli Mattson, SDM, 23:46.
Men's results:
Team scores: 1, Chadron State, 18 points; 2, South Dakota Mines, 41.
Individual results: 1, Michael Krsnak, unattached, 27:02; 2, Dylan Stansbury, CSC, 28:11; 3, Evans Koech, CSC, 28:15; 4, Justin Slattery, SDM, 28:16; 5, Josef Gertner, CSC, 28:28; 6, Robert Ricks, CSC, 28:49; 7, Simon Gudeta, CSC, 28:55; 8, Sam Patzer, SDM, 29:00; 9, Grant Cameron, SDM, 29:23; 10, Cody Franklin, unattached, 29:30; 11, Nathan Faulkner, CSC, 29:41; 12, Zach Doffin, CSC, 29:54; 13, Erich Hahn, SDM, 30:02; 14, Charles Biberg, SDM, 30:06; 15, Kevin Noto, SDM, 30:09; 16, Bryon McLaughlin, CSC, 30:38; 17, Alex Johnson, CSC, 30:50; 18, Hank Jackson, CSC, 30:59; 19, Doug Harris, CSC, 31:44; 20, Ryan Wright, SDM, 33:05.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information