SHS hosts Activity Awards Night

Tyler McCarthy was honored with a booster club medal from band instructor Frank Ibero

The final day of classes at Scottsbluff High School featured a night of activity awards presented in the High School Auditorium.

There were 26 three sport participants recognized. Of those 26 nine were three sport letter winners including Andrew Aratani for football, wrestling and track, Tristan Donelson for football, wrestling and soccer, Kiley Guerue for volleyball, basketball and track, Jackson Hinze for football, basketball and soccer, Hannah Holloway for golf, swimming and soccer, Matthew Mickey for football, basketball and soccer, Cameron Presher for football, wrestling and track, Chesney Walker for volleyball, basketball and track and Kyra Willats for volleyball, basketball and track.

Walker may have made some history. She could be the first freshman that has been awarded SHS Female Athlete-of-the-Year. Walker scored the most points this year, boy or girl, in the track regular season.

Senior Matt T. Klein was the SHS Male Athlete-of-the-Year.

The Outstanding Male Fine Arts Student of-the-Year was Andrew Holsinger. The female winner was Zoey Rada.

Two $1,000 dollar scholarships were presented in memory of Bill Connor, the longtime educator, coach an administrator at Scottsbluff High School and Bill Madden, the longtime local sportswriter, to Matthew T. Klein and Brayden Auer.

Lifters-of-the-Year were Lexi Webber and Luke Worden.

Two special awards were presented at the end of the evening. Dennis Hadden was honored for his work as the president of the booster club and longtime educator and coach Bill Steele was honored for his 40-years of service to SHS. He spent 44-years in education, including four years at Minatare, retiring at the end of this school year.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information