Gering, Scottsbluff qualify 30 for National DECA conference

SCottsbluff DECA qualifiers

30 students from twin cities schools have qualified for the National DECA conference next month in Anaheim, California. 24 students from Scottsbluff and 6 from Gering will be attending the conference April 24th through 28th after finishing in the top three places in competition held this past weekend at the State DECA conference in Lincoln.

Gering's DECA faculty advisor Broc Brown says he is excited his group doubled the number of qualifiers in the school's second year of being involved in DECA, including 3 students who placed first in their competition. Gering's first place qualifiers were Sam Eastman in Human Resource Management and Tanner Baird and Caleb Wyre in sports team decision making.

Scottsbluff had 24 qualifiers for nationals including three first place qualifiers, Lauren Miller in Entrepreneurship, Zoey Rada and Connor Ehler in Creative Marketing, and Ty Wilson in Finance Operation Research.

Faculty Advisior Derek Deaver also says Michael Hadden was the Nebraska DECA scholarship winner for not only his activities in DECA, but all his other academic, extra-curricular and community achievements.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information