2013 State Wrestling Championships begin Thursday

Scottsbluff's Andrew Aratani will be looking to improve on a sixth place finish last season

A number of area teams have high expectations for the 2013 Nebraska State Wrestling Championships that run Thursday through Saturday at the CenturyLink Center in Omaha.

Scottsbluff and Bayard head east with district titles in tow. The Bearcats will have seven wrestlers competing including five district champions.

Junior Colton Adams will shoot for a third straight state title. 106-pounder Juan Delacruz, 113-pounder Keegan Hessler, Sabian Harsh at 145 and 285-pounder Andrew Aratani are the district champs for the Cats. Joseph Flores-Ybarra and Tristan Donelson are the Bearcats on hand.

Also in Class B, Gering has Baily Nort, Jacob Rexus, Elijah Timblin, and Christian Pester competing in Omaha.

Alliance has eight wrestlers qualified including district 152-pound champ Tyson Dowler. Chadron has seven wrestlers competing in Omaha including two district champs in 160-pounder Colby Riesen and 170-pounder Chance Bila.

Bayard captured the D4 District title last weekend in Sutherland and head to Omaha with five district champs and 10 overall qualifiers.

Lane Kizzire at 145, Allen Denton at 160, Tristan Hunter at 170 and Austin and Tanner Willey at 182 and 195 respectively, won district titles. Other Tigers competing this weekend include Robert Niezwaag at 120, Brandon Bowers at 132, Kyler Sides at 138, Trentan Applegate at 152, and Chris Wurm at 285.

Morrill also had a good contingent of six wrestlers competing in 106 pounder CJ Sidrow, 132 pounder Matthew Unrein, Garrett Zwiebel at 138, Elvariste Gomez at 145, Jackson Carpenter at 160 and 285 pounder Matthew Hessler.

The Mitchell High Tigers have high expectations. They have five wrestlers qualified for this weekend including 106-pounder Drew Gilliland, 120 -pounder Josh Zulkoski, Brendan Swanson at 170, Braydon Wiedeman at 182 and 220-pounder Spencer Rien.

Bridgeport has two wrestlers on hand including district champ Brandon Nichols.

Class A&D first round and quarterfinal action will begin at 8:30 a.m. MT. First round and quarterfinal matches in Classes B&C will begin

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information