Best of the West Track and Field Meet held Tuesday

The Best of the West Track and Field Meet was held Tuesday at Bearcat Stadium in Scottsbluff. Kelsy Wood of Hemingford and Morgan Linneman of Sidney turned in outstanding efforts.

Wood and Linneman were both four event winners. Wood captured the 100 meter dash, plus both hurdles races and the long jump. Linneman won both the 200 and 400 plus was the anchor on both the 4x100 and 4x400 relays.

Raider teammate Kali Robb also ran a leg on the 4x100 and took the titles in both the shot put and discus.

Shana Wilkerson of Burns had success in the field as well, taking both the triple jump and pole vault.

Sidney's Karissa Segelke and Nicky Applegarth of Chadron were both double winners too. Segelke was a member on both winning Raider relays, while Applegarth was on the Cardinals winning 4x800 relay and won the 3200.

Rachel Huffman of Gering took top honors in the 1600 and Jessi Smith of Bayard won the 800. Anna McLaughlin of Garden County won the high jump.

Scottsbluff dominated in the boys competition, winning eight events. Matt D. Klein led the way winning both hurdles races, while also running a leg on the Bearcats winning 4x100 relay. Luke Worden ran the anchor leg on that relay and also captured the 100 meter dash.

Matthew Barraza won the 3200 and was part of a record setting 4x800 relay. Ben Willis-Teff, Justin Pritchard and Taylor James were also part of the unit that turned in a time of 8:10.05. Individually, James also won the 800.

In the field, the Bearcats' Jon Maag won both the shot put and discus.

Gering's Ryan Schwartzkopf was a double winner. He won the 400 and was part of the winning 4x400 relay. The Bulldogs also got a high jump gold medal from Zac Bibb.

Bridgeport had two winners. Cody Franklin took the and Jaime Gonzales captured the long jump. Andres Mendoza of Minatare won the 200, Nick Smith of Alliance took the pole vault and Adam Schlothauer of Mitchell won the triple jump.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information