mcDermott on Wooden list

Los Angeles, Calif. -- Creighton basketball standout Doug McDermott was
named to the prestigious Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 by the Los Angeles
Athletic Club on Thursday, one of numerous accolades bestowed on the eve of
his junior season.

The forward from Ames, Iowa, is the only MVC representative on the initial
Wooden Award list, which is based on a preseason poll of national college
basketball media members. It is comprised of 50 student-athletes who, based
on last year¹s individual performance and team records, are the early
frontrunners for college basketball¹s most prestigious honor. Transfers,
freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the Preseason list.

The players on the Preseason list are considered strong candidates for the
Midseason list and the official voting ballot, both of which are open to
freshman and transfer students. The National Ballot consists of
approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they
are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a
cumulative 2.0 GPA.

The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation¹s top 10
players, will be announced the week of the ³Elite Eight² round of the NCAA
Tournament. McDermott is the only returning Wooden All-American on the list
after a superb sophomore campaign that saw him rank first nationally in
field goals made, third in scoring, and seventh in field goal percentage. On
the season, he averaged 22.9 points and 8.2 rebounds per game while helping
Creighton to the MVC Tournament title and the third round of the NCAA

The 37th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor the Men's and Women's
Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award
All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2013 will go
to Kansas Head Coach Bill Self. The event will take place the weekend of
April 12-13, 2013.

Nine upperclassmen return to the Preseason Top 50 list from a year ago:
Allen Crabbe of California; Aaron Craft of Ohio State; Tim Hardaway, Jr. of
Michigan; Elias Harris of Gonzaga; Solomon Hill of Arizona; Ray McCallum of
Detroit; McDermott; Peyton Siva of Louisville; and Patric Young of Florida.
Louisville, a Final Four team a year ago, was the only school with three
players on the Preseason Top 50 (Siva, Gorgui Dieng and Chane Behanan).
Seven schools had two players named to the list: Duke (Seth Curry and Mason
Plumlee), Florida (Young and Kenny Boynton), Indiana (Christian Watford and
Cody Zeller), Kansas (Elijah Johnson and Jeff Withey), Michigan (Hardaway,
Jr. and Trey Burke), North Carolina State (Lorenzo Brown and C.J. Leslie)
and Ohio State (Aaron Craft and Deshaun Thomas).

Two 2012-13 preseason honorees are younger brothers of previous John R.
Wooden All Americans. Duke¹s Seth Curry is the younger brother of 2009
Wooden Award All American Stephen Curry of Davidson. Cody Zeller of Indiana
is the younger brother of 2012 Wooden Award All American Tyler Zeller of
North Carolina.

The Big 10 leads all conferences with nine selections to the Preseason Top
50, followed by the Big East with seven and the ACC and SEC each with six.
The Big 12 has five selections, the Pac-12 boasts four, the West Coast
Conference has three, and the Mountain West has two picks. Conference USA,
Horizon, Missouri Valley, Mid-American, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Summit and Sun
Belt each have one honoree.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual
honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation¹s best player
at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her
university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and
maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such
notables as Larry Bird (¹79), Michael Jordan (¹84), Tim Duncan (¹97),
Candace Parker (¹07 and ¹08), Kevin Durant (¹09) and Maya Moore of
Connecticut (¹09 and Œ11). Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis won the men¹s
Award in 2012.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a
million dollars to universities¹ general scholarship fund in the names of
the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000
underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the
Award¹s name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special
Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award
Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long
tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All
Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the
John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

2012-13 John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50, Men
Name Height Class Position University Conference
Keith Appling 6-1 Jr. G Michigan State Big Ten
Chane Behanan 6-6 So. F Louisville Big East
Kenny Boynton 6-2 Sr. G Florida SEC
Lorenzo Brown 6-5 Jr. G North Carolina State ACC
Trey Burke 6-0 So. G Michigan Big Ten
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope 6-5 So. G Georgia SEC
Isaiah Canaan 6-1 Sr. G Murray State Ohio Valley
Jack Cooley 6-9 Sr. F Notre Dame Big East
D.J. Cooper 6-0 Sr. G Ohio University Mid-American
Vincent Council 6-2 Sr. G Providence Big East
Allen Crabbe 6-6 Jr. G California Pac-12
Aaron Craft 6-2 Jr. G Ohio State Big Ten
Seth Curry 6-2 Sr. G Duke ACC
Brandon Davies 6-9 Sr. F BYU West Coast
Matthew Dellavedova 6-4 Sr. G Saint Mary's West Coast
Gorgui Dieng 6-11 Jr. C Lousville Big East
Jamaal Franklin 6-5 Jr. G San Diego State Mountain West
Tim Frazier 6-1 Sr. G Penn State Big Ten
Tim Hardaway, Jr. 6-6 Jr. G Michigan Big Ten
Elias Harris 6-8 Sr. F Gonzaga West Coast
Solomon Hill 6-7 Sr. F Arizona Pac-12
Pierre Jackson 5-10 Sr. G Baylor Big 12
Elijah Johnson 6-4 Sr. G Kansas Big 12
Sean Kilpatrick 6-4 Jr. G/F Cincinnati Big East
C.J. Leslie 6-9 Jr. F North Carolina State ACC
James Michael McAdoo 6-9 So. F North Carolina ACC
Ray McCallum 6-3 Jr. G Detroit Horizon League
C.J. McCollum 6-3 Sr. G Lehigh Patriot League
Doug McDermott* 6-8 Jr. F Creighton Missouri Valley
Rodney McGruder 6-4 Sr. G Kansas State Big 12
Tony Mitchell 6-8 So. F North Texas Sun Belt
Mike Moser 6-8 Jr. F UNLV Mountain West
Brock Motum 6-10 Sr. F Washington State Pac-12
Le'Bryan Nash 6-7 So. G/F Oklahoma State Big 12
Brandon Paul 6-4 Sr. G Illinois Big Ten
Mason Plumlee 6-10 Sr. F Duke ACC
Otto Porter 6-8 So. F Georgetown Big East
Phil Pressey 5-11 Jr. G Missouri SEC
André Roberson 6-7 Jr. F Colorado Pac-12
Peyton Siva 6-0 Sr. G Louisville Big East
Michael Snaer 6-5 Sr. G Florida State ACC
Jarnell Stokes 6-8 So. F Tennessee SEC
Adonis Thomas 6-7 So. G/F Memphis Conference USA
Deshaun Thomas 6-7 Jr. F Ohio State Big Ten
Christian Watford 6-9 Sr. F Indiana Big Ten
Jeff Withey 7-0 Sr. C Kansas Big 12
Nate Wolters 6-4 Sr. G South Dakota State Summit League
B.J. Young 6-3 So. G Arkansas SEC
Patric Young 6-9 Jr. C Florida SEC
Cody Zeller 7-0 So. F Indiana Big Ten
Players listed alphabetically *indicates player chosen to the 2012
Wooden All American Team
Based on a preseason poll.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information