Minority Leadership of Senate Ag Committee Changing

Kansas Senator Pat Roberts will not serve as Ranking Member of the Senate Agriculture Committee in the 113th Congress. Mississippi's Thad Cochran will assert his authority and become Ranking Member. In a statement released Thursday - Roberts said Cochran has his full support. Even so - Roberts says he will remain a strong and vocal champion for agriculture as a senior member of the committee. Ag Chair Debbie Stabenow said she looks forward to working with Cochran - stating they've had a great working relationship over the years. The Hagstrom Report notes that Cochran's ascension to ranking member means the commodity title of the farm bill will likely look different than that passed by the Senate last year.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell has announced nine Republicans will serve on the Ag Committee in the 113th Congress. While that's one less than in the 112th Congress - the Republican members will remain the same. Richard Lugar of Indiana - who was defeated in the primary election - is where the change comes. The ratio will be 11 Democrats to nine Republicans.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information