Smith votes no, Johanns yes on fiscal cliff deal

Two of Nebraska's three Republican congressmen voted against the last minute fiscal cliff deal.

Adrian Smith and Lee Terry voted no while Jeff Fortenberry voted for the bill which is now heading to President Obama for his signature.

Following the vote Smith issued the following statement:

This debate is not over. My concerns about spending remain and I will continue to fight to reduce the deficit and pass commonsense tax reform to put our country on a more sustainable and prosperous path. We must find an alternative to arbitrary defense cuts, but simply delaying these difficult decisions without replacing the spending reductions is the wrong approach.

Republican Senator Mike Johanns voted for the deal.

Although Johanns said the bill wasn't "ideal" he argued that it protects 99 percent of Americans from being hit with the largest tax hike in the country's history.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information