class="post-template-default single single-post postid-242869 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"

Governor declares Bayard and Morrill County disaster areas

Governor declares Bayard and Morrill County disaster areas

The City of Bayard and Morrill County have  both been declared disaster areas by the Governor, who approved the use of state resources to assist with requests made by impacted communities.  The disaster requests are the first step in the recovery process as it allows government entities to spend money to provide for recovery of public infrastructure.

  • NSP flew over impacted areas to document damage from the air on Tuesday.
  • The Nebraska Department of Roads (NDOR) has been, and will continue, to work on debris clearance in all areas.  NDOR was the only state asset requested in the recovery.  All disasters start at the local level and the state helps when it gets requests for assistance.  While the storms were powerful and produced damage, requests for state assistance have been minimal.
  • The Department of Insurance is sending two representatives to Bayard to assist victims of the storm with insurance questions they may have.  Representatives will be at the City OfficesWednesday the 21st from 5:00–7:00pm and Thursday the 22nd from 9:00am–1:00pm
  • The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is working to replace food lost during electrical outages this past week for people who receive SNAP benefits.  Persons who received SNAP benefits in June before the tornado and storm caused electrical outages must contact DHHSwithin 10 days, or by June 23. SNAP clients may call ACCESSNebraska at 800-383-4278, or visit a local DHHS office.

Additional efforts have been undertaken by private agencies.  The Red Cross has offered sheltering, feeding, and clothing in Morrill and Sioux Counties.  Local churches have been providing food.  The Red Cross reports that in Morrill County financial assistance was needed for four families and 13 individuals.

If local residents are in need of immediate assistance, they should contact the Region 21 Emergency Management Coordinator Ron Leal.  Leal serves as the local director for Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden, Kimball, and Morrill Counties.  His contact information is as follows:

Ronald D. Leal

REG 21 Coordinator, Box 217

Sidney, NE 69162


© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information