class="post-template-default single single-post postid-351996 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.1 vc_responsive"

WNCC men’s and women’s postseason soccer awards

WNCC men soccer players earn South All-region honors, Rasnic named South Coach of the Year

The Western Nebraska Community College men’s soccer team garnered five players on the South All-region team that was announced recently while head coach Todd Rasnic was named the South Coach of the Year.

Rasnic guided the Cougar men to a 9-6 record this past season before falling in the first round of the Region IX playoffs to Laramie County Community College 1-0. LCCC would go on to win the Region IX title.

Rasnic just completed his 14th season as the men’s soccer coach and has guided the team to a school record 12-6 record two years ago. In the last five years, Rasnic has a 42-26-3 record.

While Rasnic earned the South Coach of the Year honors, four Cougars earned South All-region first team honors while another earned South second team honors.

Silvio Xavier, who signed last week with Bethel University in Kentucky, and Ramses Atahualpa each earned First Team South all-region honors as forwards. Xavier finished last season with eight goals and five assists, while Atahualpa finished with eight goals and 10 assists.

Also nabbing first team honors as Thomas Franze as a midfielder. Franze, a sophomore, finished the season with one goal and four assists.

Earning First Team South defender honors was freshman Vinixous Viana.

WNCC’s Daniel Matty, a freshman, earned second team South All-region for a defender.

Other members of the First Team include forwards Jean Carre of NJC and Marcus Horwood of Central-Columus; midfielders Arturo Chairez of Otero, Dani Van Steijn of NJC, and Hakim Williams of Trinidad; defenders Gaetan Garcia of NJC, Isaiah Alexander of Otero, and Ronaldo Watson of Trnidad; and goalkeeper Petar Pesic of Otero.

Second team South All-region players include forwards Diego Garrido of Otero, Christopher Badibengi and Iahleel Cunningham of Trinidad, Maurice Von Winkler of NJC, and Luis Tovar of CCC-Columbus; midfielders Bryson Chiles and Sebastian Garcia of Otero, Quenstin Hornung of NJC, and Peterson Costa of CCC-Columbus; defenders Alexandro Ayala and Jesse Flores of Otero, and Pim con Zoest of NJC; and goalkeeper Luc Denisselle of NJC.

NJC’s Carre, a sophomore, earned South Most Valuable Player honors while Freshman of the Year was shared between Otero’s Bryson Chiles and NJC’s Luc Denisselle.


WNCC’s Nayara, Vieira earn women’s soccer all-region honors

The Western Nebraska Community College women’s soccer team placed two players on this year’s All-Region team that was released recently.

Thais Nayara, a freshman from Brazil, earned first team honors as a defender, while Carol Vieira, a freshman from Brazil, garnered second team honors as a midfielder.

Nayara led the Cougars in scoring this season, tallying six goals with one assist for 13 points.

Vieira was the team’s third leading scorer, finishing with three goals and two assists.

Other First Team recipients include goalkeeper Markell Freeman of Western Wyoming; defenders Katie Loken of Laramie County, Makayla Barnes and Jaclyn Edwards of Western Wyoming; midfielders Annie Rolf and Taylor Stoeger of Laramie County, Jordan Quig of Sheridan, and Emma Barnes of Western Wyoming; forwards Maylee Thompson of Western Wyoming and Jaycie Dillenburg of NJC; at-large representatives Karlie Valdez of Gillette and Shaney McCabe of Laramie County.

Second Team recipients include goalkeeper Ellie Bowman of Laramie County; defenders Dhawnae Inama of Gillette, Kieli Stults of Sheridan, and Kaitlyn Pryor of Western Wyoming; midfielder Annette Gomez of Otero; and forward Kelsey Hogan of Gillette.

Honorable mention players include goalkeeper Alissa Betz of Gillette; and forwards Faith Meredeth of Laramie County and Belle Shannon of Otero.

Katie Loken of Laramie County was named the Player of the Year while Markell Freeman of Western Wyoming was the Freshman of the Year. Western Wyoming head coach Jeff Adkinson was named Region IX Coach of the Year for leading the Mustangs to a Region IX title over LCCC.

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information