Debus advances to nationals

CHADRON – The wrestling season isn't over yet for Chadron State's Jordan Debus and Perry McAfee.

Debus and McAfee both clinched berths in the NCAA Division II National Championships March 8-9 in Birmingham, Ala., after finishing in the top four at the Super Region 4/Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Championship Saturday in Chadron.

It will be the third consecutive trip for Debus, while McAfee is making his first appearance.

Saturday's consolation rounds. He cruised in a 14-7 decision over Fort Hays State's Zack Grimes and followed with a commanding 6-2 victory over Nebraska-Kearney's Mark Fiala to secure third place.

McAfee, a senior from Casper, Wyo., earned a hard-fought 4-2 decision over San Francisco State's Isaiah Hurtado, the top seed at 133 pounds, before falling to Adams State's Martin Ramirez 7-3 in the third place bout. However, since McAfee defeated both wrestlers in the fifth and sixth place match, he didn't have to wrestle a true fourth place match.

In fact, no true fourth place matches were contested during Saturday's final round.

Nebraska-Kearney, which had four individual champions and all 10 of its wrestlers place in the top six, cruised to the team title with 147.5 points. However, the Lopers, who belong to the MIAA conference, weren't eligible to win the RMAC championship, which was awarded to Adams State, the highest placing RMAC team with 95 points.

Chadron State finished in fifth.

Debus, a junior from Mitchell, Neb., finished third at 184 pounds and showed signs of dominance during

Three other wrestlers competed for Chadron State on Saturday, unfortunately all three were unable to get in the top four. Bruce Zurek lost both his matches at 157 to finish in sixth and Chris Leak also finished sixth at 197 pounds.

Mike Hill, the Eagles' other remaining wrestler on Saturday, suffered a tough 3-0 decision to Nebraska-Kearney's Nick Bauman and then forfeited his fifth place match because he injured his knee against Bauman.

Chadron State Results
125 – Luis Gurule, CSM, dec. Jace Johnson, 6-4; Jonathon Stelling, CMU, dec. Johnson, 5-2.
133 – Perry McAfee, CSC, dec. Rory Wilkinson, 3-2; Martin Ramirez, ASU, dec. McAfee, 5-3; McAfee dec. Tyler Nelson, CMU, 4-3; McAfee dec. Isaiah Hurtado, SFSU, 4-2; Martin Ramirez, ASU, dec. McAfee, 7-3 for third place.
141 – Jimmy Chase, CSUP, major dec. 15-6; Michael Hamel, GCU, pinned McCance, 4:27.
149 – Max Ortega, ASU, pinned Reed Burgener, CSC, :56; Conrad Snell, SFSU, dec. Burgener, 8-6.
157 – John Crowley, CSM, dec. Bruce Zurek, CSC, 9-3; Zurek pinned Vincent Aboytes, SFSU, :21; Zurek pinned Nick Stahler, CSUP, :27; John Crowley, CSM, dec. Zurek, 7-3, Derek Koehn, major dec. Zurek, 11-0 for fifth place.
165 – Sam Thoman, FHSU, dec. Dylan Fors, 4-3; Fors dec. Justin Frazer, CSM, 7-4; Brock Lamb, SFU, dec. Fors, 5-2.
174 – Jarrod Purvis, ASU, dec. Bret Klopp, 3-2; Klopp dec. Cody Coombes, SFU, 9-5; Travis Budke, FHSU, dec. Klopp, 7-1.
184 – Jordan Debus, CSC, dec. Adam Carey, 8-5; Debus dec. Ryan Swanson, CSM, 10-6; Nick Peterson, CMU, dec. Debus, 5-2; Debus dec. Zack Grimes, FHSU, 14-7; Debus dec. Mark Fiala, UNK, 6-2 for third place.
197 – Romero Cotton, UNK, major dec. Chris Leak, CSC, 14-0; Leak, dec. Chris Frisbie, CSUP, 3-2 SV; Leak pinned Paul Wilson, CSM, 4:13; Tanner Kriss, FHSU, major dec. Leak, 16-4; Manvir Sahota, SFU, dec. 10-5 for fifth place.
285 – Mike Hill, CSC, dec. Alec Bird, CSM, 7-5; Niko Bogojevic, CSUP, dec. Hill, 3-1 SV; Hill, dec. John Close, FHSU, 6-3; Nick Bauman, UNK, dec. Hill, 3-0; Kyle Graulus, WSCU, won by forfeit over Hill for fifth place.

RMAC Team Results
Adams State University, 102.0
Grand Canyon, 82.5
Western State, 77.0
CSU-Pueblo, 67.0
Chadron State, 59.5
Colorado Mesa, 56.5
San Francisco State, 51.5
New Mexico Highlands, 44.0
Colorado Mines, 24.5

RMAC Freshman of the Year: Martin Ramirez, Adams State
RMAC Wrestler of the Year: Tyrell Fortune, Grand Canyon
RMAC Coach of the Year: Jason Ramstetter, Adams State

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information