Barraza and Huffman win titles

Matthew Barraza of Scottsbluff and Rachel Huffman of Gering came away with the individual titles at the Panhandle Classic Cross Country Invitational at the Scotts Bluff Country Club Tuesday.

Barraza, a sophomore for the Bearcats, led the charge for the two-time defending Class B state champions as they placed eight runners in the top ten.

Barraza edged Bridgeport's Cody Franklin by three seconds. Anthony Parra, Brendan Taedter, Taylor James, Ben Willis-Teff, Justin Pritchard, Shane Burkey all of the Bearcats followed. Teammate Nate Pritchard rounded out the top ten, while Gering's Michael Mapes finished eighth. Two Mitchell runners, Tate Harvey and Levi Avila, were 10th and 11th respectively.

In the team standings Scottsbluff led the way with 19 points. Gering was second with 64 followed by Mitchell with 71.

On the girls side Gering took team honors with 28 points, outdistancing Scottsbluff who finished with 39 points. Kimball and Bridgeport were next, tied at 79.

Gering's Rachel Huffman took individual honors by :33 over second place Taylor Muncie of Scottsbluff.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information