Three CSC cowboys earn second place finishes

CHADRON – Three Chadron State College cowboys finished second in their events during the CSC rodeo at the Dawes County Fairgrounds over the weekend.

Chadron State cowgirls also did well. They placed among the top six in the final event standings five times.

The rodeo drew 489 entries from the Central Rocky Mountain Region that includes colleges and universities in Wyoming and Colorado along with CSC.

Chadron State's runner-up honors were earned by Colten Blanchard of Sulphur, La., in bareback riding, Jace Blackwell of Rapid City in saddle bronc riding and Russell Hipke of Stuart in steer wrestling.

Blanchard scored 69 and 74 points on the two barebacks he drew. The latter score allowed him to place second in the championship go-round on Sunday.

Blackwell actually was the only saddle bronc rider to make it to the eight-second whistle in the finals on Sunday, but it was ruled that he had not spurred his bronc over the point of the shoulder on the first jump out of the chute, so he took a no score.

The remaining nine finalists were bucked off their broncs before the whistle sounded.

Hipke flipped his steers in 5.0 and 4.6 seconds to complete his two runs in 9.6 seconds. His time in the finals was second in that go-round.

Chadron State cowgirls earned three placings in breakaway roping. Kelsey Scott of Douglas, Wyo., was third, Amy Tierney of Oral, S.D., was fourth and Raegen Scott, also of Douglas and Kelsey's cousin, was fifth.

Kelsey Scott's times were 3.1 and 3.5 seconds, Tierney's were 3.0 and 3.8 and Raegen Scott's were 3.7 and 4.7.

Raegen also was third in goat tying with a pair of eight-second runs.

Also placing for Chadron State was Amy Diechert of Spearfish, S.D., who ranked sixth in the barrel race.

Tierney in the goat tying, Collin Chytka of Broken Bow in bareback riding, Clinton Lambrecht of Wood River in steer wrestling and Mitch McAdow of Littleton, Colo., were other CSC entries who qualified for the finals after placing among the top 10 in the first go-round.

Gillette College entries won four of the rodeo's nine events. Gillette's champions were Casey Breuer, bareback riding; Dane Kissack, tie down roping; Taylor Miller, bull riding; and Megan Belus, goat tying.

The other individual winners were Lane Hall of Eastern Wyoming College at Torrington, saddle bronc riding; Carter Coble of Lamar College in Colorado, steer wrestling; Colby Sturgeon and Wyatt Clarke of the University of Wyoming, team roping; Lydia Cole of UW, breakaway roping; and Hayden Segelke of Northeastern Junior College at Sterling, College, barrel racing.

Gillette won the men's team title with 765 points. The University of Wyoming was second with 625. Wyoming won the women's championship with 410 points while Gillette was the runner-up with 375, followed by Northeastern Junior College with 337 and CSC with 260.

This weekend's rodeo will be at Sheridan College.

The placings at the CSC rodeo follow:

Bareback riding-1, Casey Breuer, Gillette, 79-82, 160 points; 2, Colten Blanchard, Chadron State, 69-74, 143; 3, Neil Williams, Casper, 63-73, 136; 4, Chance Englebert, Laramie County, 71-64, 135; 5, Tate Schwagler, Sheridan, 65-63, 128; 6, Ace Thurston, 66-60, 126.

Saddle bronc riding-1, Lane Hall, Eastern Wyoming, 74 points; 2, Jace Blackwell, Chadron State, 73; 3, Colton Miller, Central Wyoming, 68; 4-5, Wyatt Clark, Wyoming, and Jace Nelson, Gillette, 66; 6, Stetson Jorgensen, Central Wyoming, and Wylie King, Casper, 64.

(Note: There were no qualified rides in the final go-round.)

Tie down roping-1, Dane Kissack, Gillette, 10.6-9.6, 20.2 seconds; 2, Tyler Thorson, Eastern Wyoming, 12.1-10.1, 22.2; 3-4, James Wolf, Northeastern, 12.5-10.7, 23.2; and Caleb Weddle, Northeastern, 11.5-11.7, 23.2; 5, Taygen Schuelke, Sheridan, 12.5-11.6, 24.2; 6, Garrett Webb, Central Wyoming, 10.9-13.4, 24.3.

Steer wrestling-1, Carter Coble, Lamar, 5.1-4.1, 9.2 seconds; 2, Russell Hipke, Chadron State, 5.0-4.6, 9.6; 3, Caleb Weddle, Northeastern, 5.3-4.6, 9.9; 4, Coltin Hill, Central Wyoming, 4.9-5.3, 10.2; 5, Kelby Bond, Northeastern, 5.0-5.8, 10.8; 6, Casey Collins, Wyoming, 4.7-15.7, 20.4.

Team roping-1, Colby Sturgeon and Wyatt Clarke, Wyoming, 7.4-11.4, 18.8 seconds; 2, Braden Huxtable and Dan Robinett, Casper, 9.4-14.7, 24.1; 3, Tyler Wortman and Trae Kautzman, Eastern Wyoming, 10.3-15.1, 25.4; 4, Troy Wilcox and Cotey Hanson, Eastern Wyoming, 7.3; 5, Keely Smith and Luke Baumann, Lamar, 9.5; 6, Sterling Molesworth and Seth Barber, Lamar, 10.1.

Bull riding-1, Taylor Miller, Gillette, 69 points; 2, Zach Devol, Otero, 64; 3-4, Ezra Coleman, Gillette, and John Herman, Laramie County, 63; 5, Wiley King, Casper, 60; 6, Ty Fenster, Casper, 54. (Note: No qualified rides in final go-round).

Breakaway roping-1, Lydia Coe, Wyoming, 2.2-3.3, 5.5 seconds; 2, Cassie Hamilton, Wyoming, 3.8-2.7, 6.5; 3, Kelsey Scott, Chadron State, 3.1-3.5, 6.6; 4, Amy Tierney, Chadron State, 3.0-3.8, 6.8; 5, Raegen Scott, Chadron State, 3.7-4.7, 8.4; 6, Kristi Steffes, Gillette, 2.5. (Steffes had no time in the finals.)

Barrel racing-1, Hayden Segelke, Northeastern, 17.28-17.25, 34.53 seconds; 2, Keeley Smith, Lamar, 17.73-17.34, 35.07; 3, Tally Roepke, Gillette, 17.64-17.48, 35.13; 4, Coralee Spratt, Northeastern, 17.75-17.48, 35.23; 5, Kaylee Burnett, Central Wyoming, 17.90-17.39, 35.25; 6, Amy Diechert, Chadron State, 17.84-17.60, 35.44.

Goat tying-1, Megan Belus, Gillette, 7.5-7.8, 15.3 seconds; 2, Shaylee Hance, Central Wyoming, 7.6-8.1, 15.7; 3, Raegen Scott, Chadron State, 8.0-8.0, 16.0; 4, Kaycee Nelson, Wyoming, 7.8-8.5, 16.3; 5, Coralee Spratt, Northeastern, 7.9-8.7, 16.6; 6, Hayden Segelke, Northeastern, 7.8-10.9, 18.7.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information