Bayard dominates D4 wrestling district

The Bayard Tigers had five individual district champions and qualified 10 wrestlers for next week's state meet in Omaha while dominating the D4 District Tournament in Sutherland Saturday.

The Tigers won the team title with 186 points, 83 better than second place Hay Springs, who had three individual titlists and five state qualifiers.

Morrill also had a good day. The Lions tied for fourth with Perkins County in the 17 team field and qualified six for next weeks competition.

Bayard's five district champs were Lane Kizzire at 145, Allen Denton at 160, Tristan Hunter at 170 and Austin and Tanner Willey at 182 and 195 respectively. The Willey cousins will head to Omaha with identical 27-5 records.

Also qualifying for the state meet for the Tigers were Robert Niezwaag who was fourth at 120, Brandon Bowers who was third at 132, Kyler Sides, fourth at 138, Trenton Applegate who was second at 152 and Chris Wurm who was fourth at 285.

Morrill had no district champs but two second place finishers in 106 pounder CJ Sidrow and 145 pounder Elvariste Gomez, who lost 7-to-4 to Bayard's Kizzire in the title match.

The Lions also had Garrett Zwiebel at 138 and Matthew Hessler at 285 finish third. Matthew Unrein at 132 and Jackson Carpenter at 160 earned tickets to Omaha with fourth place finishes.

Hay Springs had champions in 120-pounder Chris Ray, 132 pounder Joey Johnson and Stevin Horrocks at 220. The Hawks also qualified Levi Ray at 126 and Jordan Houser at 170.

Hemingford and Banner County each qualified three wrestlers. The Bobcats were led by Cash Weber who finished second at 138. The Bobcats also had two fourth place finishers in 106 pounder Cooper Weber and 113 pounder Lee Jesperson.

Banner County got a second place finish from 182 punder Gared Krakow. David Gifford was third at 220 and Thomas Grubbs was fourth at 195.

Crawford had two qualifiers in 106 pounder Slade Martinez who was third and 220 pounder Taylor Alcorn who finished fourth.

Garden County will also send two wrestlers to state, including district champ Makay Beck at 152. Terrel Vineyard qualified third at 145.

The Sioux County Warriors will send William Skavdahl to state. He finished fourth at 145. The Minatare Indians also had a qualifier in Marc Cinnoco. He was fourth at 126.

Team Scores
1. Bayard 186
2. Hay Springs 103
3. SMC 98.5
4. Morrill 91
Perkins County 91
6. Sutherland 86
7. Mullen 67.5
8. Garden County 48.5
9. Banner County 44
10. Hyannis 36
11. Hemingford 32
12. Crawford 31.5
13. Hitchcock County 28
14. Minatare 17
Sioux County 17
16. Creek Valley 8
17. Wauneta-Palisade 4

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information