Scottsbluff wins B4 District wrestling title

The Scottsbluff Bearcats won the Class B District 4 wrestling championship in Sidney Saturday, edging second place Lexington 177.5 to 173 in the 12 team field.

The Bearcats had five individual champs and qualified seven wrestlers for next weeks state meet in Omaha.

Leading the way for the Bearcats was two-time defending state champ Colton Adams. He won the 132 pound title with a pin at the 4:19 mark aginst Clay Trejo of Cozad. Adams heads to state with a 49-1 record.

Joining Adams as district titlists were 106-pounder Juan Delacruz, Keegan Hessler at 113, Sabian Harsh at 145 and 285 pounder Andrew Aratani.

Delacruz won a 10-to-6 decision over Pascual Francisco of Lexington in the title match. Delacruz will take a 44-5 record to Omaha.

Hessler moved to 46-3 on the season with an 8-to-0 major decision in the championship match against Jacob Fuehner of Holdrege.

Harsh didn't work long in his title match. He had a :32 pin against Tate Cullers of Chadron. Harsh heads to Omaha with a 39-10 record.

Aratani will head to state with a 35-13 record. He won his championship match with a pin against Mitchell Collicott in 1:54.

Joseph Flores-Ybarra settled for second place for the Bearcats at 120. He lost by a technical fall in the title match to Devin Ushio of Alliance.

Also qualifying for James Miller's crew was Tristan Donelson. He earned a spot in the 152 pound field with a fourth place finish.

Gering finished 8th and had three wrestlers qualify for state next week. Jacob Rexus at 160, Elijah Timblin at 170 and Christian Pester at 195 all finished fourth for the Bulldogs.

Team Standings
Scottsbluff 177.5
Lexington 173
Alliance 163.5
Chadron 140
Cozad 132
Holdrege 122
Sidney 79
Gering 66
Gothenburg 49
McCook 48
Ogallala 44
Broken Bow 23

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information