Scottsbluff walks away with golf invite

There haven't been many perfect days for golf this season for area teams, but today was close and the Scottsbluff Bearcats took advantage of the good conditions to walk away with the title of their own invite at the Scotts Bluff Country Club.

Mike Klein's crew had a season best team score of 293 to top second place Broken Bow by 17 shots. The Bearcats had three golfers place in the top ten, including meet medalist Andrew Holloway, who fired a two under par 70.

His score was one stroke better than teammate Michael Hadden, who finished second. Tanner Johnson of Broken Bow was third, also with a 71. Scottsbluff's Koy Pothoff added an eighth place 75. and Jonah Wright was just outside the top ten with a 77.

McCook finished third in the 12-team field with a 312, one shot better than Cheyenne East. Gering was ninth in the standings with a 366. The Bulldogs were paced by Baily Hort with an 89 and Austin Kaufman with a 90.

Bayard won the Division II title with a 353. that was 24 strokes better than the second place Scottsbluff JV. Trey Blanco of Bayard was the Division II medalist. Henry Heeg of Kimball finished second.

Team Standings...Division I
1. Scottsbluff, 293
2. Broken Bow, 310
3. McCook, 312
4. Cheyenne East, 313
5. North Platte, 318
6. Sidney, 340
7. Cheyenne Central, 347
8. Alliance, 364
9. Gering, 366
10. Ogallala, 381
11. Chadron, 401
12. Gothenburg, 405

Divsion II
1. Bayard, 353
2. Scottsbluff JV, 377
3. Mitchell, 394
4. Kimball, 412
5. Morrill, 474

1. Andrew Holloway, Scottsbluff 70
2. Michael Hadden, Scottsbluff 71
3. Tanner Johnson, Broken Bow 71
4. Mack Alspaugh, McCook 73
5. Stephan Grandpre, Cheyenne East 74
6. Marcus Miller, Broken Bow 74
7. Taylor Barton, Sidney 74
8. Koy Pothoff, Scottsbluff 75
9 Sean Backer, McCook 76
10. Logan Harrison, Cheyenne East 76

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information