Bearcats win B-4 wrestling district; qualify 9 for state

The Scottsbluff Bearcats captured the Class B-4 District Wrestling Championship Saturday in Cozad, while qualifying nine for the state tournament in Omaha.

In addition to the nine Scottsbluff wrestlers, Chadron qualified six, Gering and Alliance each qualified four, and Sidney one. The state wrestling tournament runs Thursday through Sunday at the Century Link Center in Omaha.

The Bearcats also had four district champions, including Robert Price at 113 pounds, Keegan Hessler at 126 pounds, Sabian Harsh at 160 pounds, and Andrew Aratani at 285 pounds.

Alliance's Devin Ushio (Alliance) was also a district champion at 120 pounds, and Chadron's Cooper Cogdill won at 195 pounds.

Class B-4 District Wrestling Tournament
Final Results, Saturday
At Cozad

Team Results:
1. Scottsbluff, 196.0
2. Lexington, 157.0
3. Cozad, 135.0
4. Chadron, 124.5
5. Ogallala, 85.0
6. Gothenburg, 82.5
7. Alliance, 81.0
8. Holdrege, 74.5
9. McCook, 58.0
10. Broken Bow, 50.0
11. Gering, 48.0
12. Sidney, 46.0

106 Pounds:
1st Place: Bryce Larson (Gothenburg) def. Daniel Goings (Chadron), 6-4
3rd Place: Clayton Glendy (Broken Bow) def. George Hernandez (Scottsbluff), 10-1

113 Pounds:
1st Place: Robert Price (Scottsbluff) def. Mike Nyugen (Lexington), 7-5 (OT)
3rd Place: Marcelino Ramos (Gering) def. Joe Ritzen (Chadron), 10-7

120 Pounds:
1st Place: Devin Ushio (Alliance) def. Salem Harsh (Scottsbluff), 10-4
3rd Place: Alam Alvarez (Lexington) def. Devin Logston (Holdrege), 9-0

126 Pounds;
1st Place: Keegan Hessler (Scottsbluff) def. Jacob Hoffman (Cozad), 18-8
3rd Place: Henry Gonzalez (Lexington) pinned Toray Smith (Ogallala), 0:23

132 Pounds:
1st Place: Brian Messersmith (Cozad) pinned Ben Rodriguez (Scottsbluff), 3:43
3rd Place: DJ Weare (Alliance) def. Baily Hort (Gering), 6-4 (OT)

138 Pounds:
1st Place: Clay Trejo (Cozad) def. Dakota Hernandez (Lexington), 5-1
3rd Place: Walker Johnson (Alliance) def. Damian Hort (Gering), 2-0

145 Pounds:
1st Place: Colton Adams (Scottsbluff) pinned Michael Muggli (Sidney), 2:59
3rd Place: Jayden Miller (Gothenburg) pinned Trent Zink (Ogallala), 1:00

152 Pounds:
1st Place: Jacob Pfeifer (Holdrege) pinned Tate Cullers (Chadron), 1:38
3rd Place: Moises Garcia (Lexington) def. Hugo Escamilla (Cozad), 7-6

160 Pounds:
1st Place: Sabian Harsh (Scottsbluff) def. Willy Cogdill (Chadron), 6-0
3rd Place: Brian Sunblade (Holdrege) def. Elijah Timblin (Gering), 6-0

170 Pounds:
1st Place: Skyler Kottwitz (Gothenburg) def. Garrett Ulmer (Broken Bow), 9-5
3rd Place: Cameron Nagaki (Alliance) pinned Jared Washa (Ogallala), 1:23

182 Pounds:
1st Place: Hank Pflaster (Cozad) pinned Logan Farrell (Lexington), 3:51
3rd Place: Cameron Presher (Scottsbluff) def. Matthew Skinner (Ogallala), 11-6

195 Pounds:
1st Place: Cooper Cogdill (Chadron) def. Edwin Perdomo (Lexington), 3-0
3rd Place: Brody Cleveland (Ogallala) def. Dakota McBride (McCook), 15-4

220 Pounds:
1st Place: Alex Boryca (Cozad) def. Matt McBride (McCook), 10-2
3rd Place: Tanner Kickland (Chadron) pinned Josue Ayala (Lexington), 1:50

285 Pounds:
1st Place: Andrew Aratani (Scottsbluff) def. Luis Nunez (Lexington), forfeit
3rd Place: Dalton Goodenberger (McCook) pinned Bradley Clinesmith (Ogallala), 2:26

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information