Huskers take on Sam Houston tonight

The Nebraska women's basketball team returns to the Bob Devaney Sports Center to take on Sam Houston State on Tuesday night. Tip-off between the Huskers (3-1) and Bearkats (1-2) is set for 7:05 p.m.

Nebraska will look to rebound from its first loss of the season, a 60-55 setback at South Dakota State in Brookings on Sunday. Senior point guard Lindsey Moore led the Huskers with 21 points, four rebounds and five assists, while junior forward Jordan Hooper added 15 points and seven boards. However, the rest of the Huskers combined for just 19 points and 16 rebounds.

A bounce-back game will not be easy against the Bearkats. Sam Houston State returns four starters and nine letterwinners from a team that went 18-12 in 2011-12, includng 12-4 in the Southland Conference. The Bearkats advanced to the second round of the Women's Basketball Invitational Postseason Tournament. SHSU will be the third Husker opponent in five games to earn a postseason berth a year ago, joining South Dakota State (NCAA) and Temple (WNIT).

Coach Brenda Welch-Nichols and the Bearkats have opened the season 1-2 while participating in the Preseason WNIT. SHSU is coming off a 73-55 win over Grambling State on Nov. 17.

Nebraska Coach Connie Yori became the winningest women's basketball coach in school history with NU's win over Temple on Nov. 11, 2012. The victory over the Owls increased Yori's win total to 192 at the start of her 11th season at Nebraska. She moved past former Husker Coach Angela Beck (1986-97) atop Nebraska's all-time win list. Beck posted a 191-128 record (.599) in 11 seasons at the helm of the Huskers.

The 2010 National Coach of the Year, Yori needs seven more wins to become the first women's coach in Nebraska history to reach the 200-victory mark. Yori's NU mark is 193-127 (.603).

On the men's side, only Danny Nee and Joe Cipriano have produced 200 basketball victories at Nebraska. Nee won 254 games in 14 seasons coaching the Huskers from 1987 to 2000. Cipriano earned 253 wins in 17 seasons from 1964 to 1980.

Senior All-America candidate Lindsey Moore made the 102nd consecutive start of her Nebraska career in the Huskers' loss at South Dakota State on Nov. 18. The 5-9 point guard from Covington, Wash., has started every game of her Husker career since leading the Huskers to a perfect 29-0 regular season record and the Big 12 title as a freshman in 2009-10.

Moore owns a 72-30 record as Nebraska's starting point guard and has guided the Huskers to a pair of NCAA Tournaments. She is nearing Nebraska's top 10 in career starts. If Moore can get to 106, she will catch 1993 Wade Trophy winner Karen Jennings (1990-93) at No. 10. Kelsey Griffin, a 2010 first-team All-American and a teammate of Moore's in 2009-10, owns the NU career record with 127 starts.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information